Cronje leads 20 players to Sunshine Tour with Q-School victory

Apr 21, 2023 | Featured, Sunshine Tour

From Sunshine Tour

The triumph and heartbreak of qualifying school was on display this week with the conclusion of the Sunshine Tour Qualifying School and the Altron Vusi Ngubeni Tournament.

Sean Cronje led the qualifiers at the final stage of the Sunshine Tour Qualifying School at Heron Banks Golf and River Resort, where the top 20 earned their tour cards.

Cronje won on 15 under par with rounds of 72-64-67-66. His nearest challengers were Gerhard Trytsman and Jonathan Broomhead on 12 under par.

“This was my second time now. It’s a very important week so it’s a lot of stress and a lot of people watching. You’ve just got to stay in the moment and just do your thing,” said Cronje.

The top 20 players and ties after the four rounds won their Sunshine Tour playing privileges. They were: Sean Cronje, Gerhard Trytsman, Jonathan Broomhead, Hunter Epson (USA), Tyrone Davidowitz, David Wicks (ENG), Drikus Joubert, Stuart Krog (ZIM), Marcel Steyn Scholtz, Callum Mowat, Brandon Smith (USA), Ethan Smith, James Mack (ENG), Jack Hawksby (ENG), Vaughn van Deventer, Jason Roets, Chris Cannon (ENG), Conner MacKenzie, Travis Ladner, Richie O’Donavan (IRE).

The remaining players who made the cut, all 44 of them, will get their cards for the Altron Big Easy Tour.

You may also like…