Zimbabwe’s Amm leads 12 players into SA Open field

Nov 28, 2023 | Featured, Sunshine Tour

Zimbabwe’s David Amm fired a superb nine-under-par 63 on Tuesday at ERPM Golf Club to lead 12 qualifiers from three different courses into the Investec South African Open Championship which will be played at Blair Atholl Golf and Equestrian Estate.

Amm was one shot clear of Henning du Plooy, while Sanuel Simpson and Jaques P de Villiers each carded seven-under-par 65 to go through to the main tournament after a three-for-two play-off saw them edge out Reece McKain.

At Modderfontein Golf Club, Hunter Epson of the United States topped the leaderboard with his seven-under-par 65, together with Danie van Niekerk. On five-under-par 67 were James Hart du Preez and Ethan Smith, who survived a four-for-two play-off, edging out veteran Ulrich van den Berg in the process.

At Irene Country Club, the only amateur to make it through qualifying, Ivan Verster, topped the leaderboard with his eight-under-par 64. Keagan Crosbie and LB Boshoff signed for a pair of six-under 66s, and Christiaan Basson came through a seven-for-one play-ff at five-under-par 67. Amongst those who missed out in that play-off were Jonathan Broomhead and Bryce Easton.


You may also like…